Tags

, , , , ,

Ah, sorry to disappoint, as I’m sure I’ve lured you here under false pretences – not quite ‘post of the century’, more ‘post featuring the century plant’! To compound the disappointment it’s somewhat misnamed, living for only about thirty years and flowering once before dying. Sadly those looking for seasonal posts will be further disappointed; maybe with some energetic stretching of the imagination this could be a stylised Christmas tree? … without the baubles … or the tinsel … or the angel …. I guess it depends on the elasticity of your imagination! :D Fine art B&W image of a century plant flowerFinally there is some good news – ‘though only for those interested in technique. Wanting a side on view of an 8m tall flower has its problems but I eventually found one at a precarious angle overhanging a track. Scrabbling about in the dust craning my neck skywards gave the desired view and made the most of a clear blue sky. I exposed to the right (please let me know if that doesn’t make sense!) capturing as much detail as possible in the plant and knowing that I wanted to ‘lose’ the sky when processing; a simple mono conversion gave the result I was after.

As I won’t get another chance – thank you all for your support in 2013, have a happy Christmas, a fun New Year and all the best for 2014!

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

EXIF data: ISO 200, 1/125s, f5.0 at 135mm, +2 compensation. RAW file converted with Capture NX2

