Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

After a steady breeze foiled my envisioned image of Salisbury Cathedral reflected in the water meadows I headed across to other nearby fields to see the extent of the flooding: it was quite impressive but not much of a picture and I turned to leave. At that moment the setting sun fell into the narrow gap between the low cloud and the rooftops, illuminating the Cathedral and the limestone exploded with an astounding brilliance into a blaze of gold. Up to my knees in water I grabbed a quick shot, should the moment prove too fleeting, before hurrying off to dry land to retrieve the filters from my backpack, my new vision being a golden streak between the bruised blue of the sky and the shadowed foreground. A hasty set up, a quick calculation and no sooner did the shutter click shut than the sun dipped below the rooftops and the moment was gone. With bated breath I checked the screen – the anticipation, relief, joy, satisfaction and all the other emotions of this moment will only really be understood by other photographers! Golden light on Salisbury Cathedral and reflections in the blue flooded water meadowsWith the growing dark and time to kill I made my way to the Cathedral for a night picture: something of a cliché but after all these years of living nearby about time I got my own! Salisbury Cathedral at night with the moon

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

EXIF data: ISO 200, 40s, f10 at 80mm, RAW file converted with Capture NX2 and ISO 200, 10s, f6.3 at 22mm, RAW file converted with Capture NX2. Converging verticals corrected with Photoshop’s Adaptive wide angle filter – an incredible tool!

