Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

In the hectic last few months I managed to squeeze in a couple of hours at nearby Wardour Castle – but my timing coincided with a wedding. Not quite the solitude I had hoped for on a showery afternoon!

In May 1643 after a five day siege and with the threat of destruction the castle, defended by Lady Blanche Arundell with only twenty five men, surrendered to the Parliamentarian forces. Her son, returning from battle in 1644, laid siege to his own castle and it was virtually destroyed through the accidental explosion of a munition store. English Heritage's Wardour CastleDuring my visit the sharp ricochets of gun fire reverberated across the years as the roofless halls echoed with the sound of popping champagne corks! A brief break in the clouds allowed the sun to burst through and my fortuitous timing meant that I was in just the right place at the right time to capture the perfect symmetry of the main entrance, emphasised by the strong shadows of a fleeting sun.

Although I’m sure English Heritage wouldn’t appreciate it I hope my next visit finds the Castle deserted!

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

EXIF data: ISO 200, 1/200s, f5.6 at 29mm. RAW file converted with Capture NX2