Tags

, , , ,

It seems to have been grey, grey, grey with dull washed out skies for ages now  – very uninspiring. On top of that, the much anticipated snow down south has turned out to be nothing more than mucky mush.

Sooo, I decided to turn my attention to this wonderful beastie I found lurking in the undergrowth of our garden last summer. A dragonfly nymph, or more correctly, the skin left behind from its final metamorphoses from a bog snorkelling carnivorous alien with a voracious appetite to a shimmering flying fancy – with a voracious appetite!  All I can say is, I’m glad I don’t live in a pond – Imagine this hurtling towards you out of the murky depths with murder on its mind.

Both images were shot in manual with a Nikkor 105mm macro lens and Liveview to aid manual focussing. The light version was on a piece of curved white paper with a front quarter light and white reflector, whilst the dark version was in a roll of black paper with a subdued front quarter light. In the end I couldn’t decide which version I preferred – any comments?!

…. and the title of this post …. I used to have a copy of an old map of Africa. The coastline was beautifully mapped and drawn and across the empty, uncharted centre were emblazoned the words “Here be Dragons”.

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

