Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve finally managed to process the photos I took at Lydden Hill (the main reason for me being in Folkestone as mentioned in my previous post) but don’t worry I’m not going to bore you with dozens of ‘samey’ photos! My husband is Newsletter Editor for the ‘Cotton Owners and Enthusiasts Club’, a little heard of motorcycle marque founded in Gloucester (UK) in 1919. A particular story he is working on took us to the classic bike race meeting at Lydden Hill where we met a club member who bought his Cotton Telstar new in 1963 – and is still racing it! …..  how great is that to be racing the same bike almost 50 years on?!

The first photo shows him near the bottom of ‘Hairy Hill’ (yes, it really is called that!) and I like this shot as he almost looks as though he is surfing down the side of a giant wave. The second is a classic panning shot for no other reason than to show off the bike. A very short and sweet post this time – but tell me, how many of you had ever heard of Cotton Motorcycles before?! 

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

