Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m happy to turn my camera at pretty much anything – anything that is, except people. I just don’t ‘do’ people. Actually, that’s not quite true. I occasionally photograph people but they tend to be hidden inside crash helmets! Anyway, having been inspired by the recent posts of Robert Santafede and Dervish Images, who have both captured lovely portraits, I decided to give it a go. The main problem I have is that I feel too embarrassed to ask permission and get in close. I also know that if I were ever to pluck up the courage I, and probably my subject, would feel very awkward so I’d fire off one or two terrible shots and we’d both wish we hadn’t bothered! So, these were sneaky shots using a 70-300mm lens and reasonably heavily cropped in order to fill the frame. They actually turned out better than I thought 🙂 so I’m encouraged to try again. Any suggestions on how to get braver (!) as well as shooting and processing techniques would be much appreciated. Please feel free to tell me what I’m doing wrong and how I could improve my portraiture. We only learn by knowing what we’re doing wrong so don’t hold back!

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

