Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I was due to go to Lundy Island a few weeks ago for a day of photography but as the day approached the weather worsened and my heart sank. Bad weather can result in great photographs but not when the rain is heavy enough to drown most cameras and there is a serious risk of being blown away! As it turned out, the weather deteriorated so badly that the captain decided it was too bad to make the crossing from Bideford and the sailing was cancelled – phew! The day was duly rearranged and last Tuesday we boarded the M.S. Oldenburg and headed for the island under a flawless blue sky with a gentle swell and dolphins playing coyly in the bow wave. Not the best conditions for atmospheric photography (ther’s just no pleasing some people is there?!) but it was a perfect day to explore this tiny gem sparkling in the Bristol Channel. After making land we headed for the gently undulating lower path of the eastern side, accompanied by a pair of grey seals in the water below us, their aquatic antics clearly visible in the transparent sea.  Protected from the wild Atlantic Ocean this is the ‘soft’ side of the island with grassy slopes and wild flowers at the right time of year.  Hiding in the shelter provided a small cluster of trees were three or four Sika deer curiously watching us. They didn’t seem in hurry to leave so I carefully set about changing to my 70-300mm lens and opened the aperture as wide as it would go. Typically, the minute I raised my camera to my eye they slipped away smoothly and silently as shadows. I swapped back to my 24-70mm lens and took a shot of the Oldenburg heading out to Landing Bay where it anchored up for the day – forgetting to close the aperture down. This resulted in only a very small part of the foreground being in focus – a slightly unusual effect but I quiet liked it!  What do you think – does it work or not?

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

