Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I noticed the way the late afternoon sun caught the cotton grass by the side of our pond and decided it was worth a photograph. Impossible to photograph in situ (without some serious paddling anyway!) I took a stem inside and set up this image. Fine art macro photograph of cotton grass with backlight and black backgroundThe lighting was more difficult than I’d anticipated and I’m still not convinced I got it quite right as the light on the right hand head isn’t particularly well balanced. Maybe I need two lights?! Also, my original intention was to convert it to mono but in the end I preferred the slight touches of colour.

So, what do you think? Would you have preferred mono or is there just not enough tonal range and detail for a mono conversion to work ….. and any suggestions on how to improve the lighting?!

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

