Tags

, , , , , , ,

I was lucky enough to spend a week recently with friends at their place in southern Spain – gee, it’s a tough life! Situated in a rural part of the country light pollution is low and I was able to try my hand at shooting stars – as it turns out I also managed to capture a couple! Astrophotography (night photography) of Cuatro Vientos, Orgiva in the Alpujarras of southern Spain Astrophotography (night photography) of the Milky Way, with a shooting star and silhouette trees in the foreground

These aren’t perfect but, as first attempts, I’m reasonably happy – and I certainly learnt a lot. The main lesson being to wait until it really is dark! There are only 15 minutes between these two images but the darker sky of the second reveals a lot more stars and had I waited a little longer the Milky Way would have stood out more clearly – but I distinctly heard a glass of red wine calling my name ๐Ÿ™‚

The second image is my favourite in terms of colour, composition and technical merit. I have shared the first image partly for comparison and partly because it shows where we stayed. If youโ€™d like to see more of the place or fancy spending some time there (which I can highly recommend!) take a look here.

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

EXIF data: ISO 1000, 30s, f2.8 at 17mm and ISO 1000, 30s, f2.8 at 35mm. RAW files converted with Capture NX2

