Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

My home county of Wiltshire is well known for its low, rounded, whale back hills – but it’s not often I get the chance to photograph mountains! Our recent visit to the southern slopes of the Spanish Sierra Nevada gave me just this opportunity and another chance to experiment. New to the area and not knowing what was in store, I found myself facing more or less west in the mid to late afternoon – not good! Knowing that the tricky shooting conditions would result in bleached colours and problematic  contrast, I set to work capturing the spectacle before me with panoramic mono images in mind. Layers of silhouette hills receding in the mist of southern SpainLayers of silhouette hills receding in the mist of southern Spain reminiscent of Middle EarthI particularly like the clean lines and minimal feel of the second image …. but what do you think?

Have you noticed the new ‘Gallery’ link in the menu bar? There are a number of images that you may not have seen before – how exciting!:D  I am planning a complete overhaul of my website in the coming weeks, this being the first step. Not being a whizz at this sort of thing means I face difficult times ahead!

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

EXIF data: ISO 200, 1/1250s, f5.0 at 155mm and ISO 200, 1/1250s, f5.0 at 340mm. RAW files converted with Capture NX2

