Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The sharp eyed among you may have noticed that my last image was processed in Lightroom rather than my usual Capture NX2. Due to manoeuvrings of the powers that be the Capture NX software will no longer be supported โ€“ a sad day indeed! Facing a move that had to happen at some point I decided on Lightroom and to make the jump sooner rather than later.

Square format B&W image of the spiral staircase at Wardour CastleThis image of the ruined stairway at Wardour Castle had already been processed in NX2 but, as it needed some thought (rather than the simple tweak of levels required by my Longleat photograph), it seemed a good place to start learning.

A necessary exercise but also good for the photograph as, concentrating fully on each step, meant that I took more care and produced a better finished result. Not hugely different but enough that I’m glad of the extra work …. thank goodness as taking the photograph was a challenge in itself with precarious footing (for myself and, more importantly, my tripod!) on a well worn spiral stairway, craning skyward into the rain whilst dodging wedding guests is not something Iโ€™d choose to repeat in a hurry!

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

EXIF data: ISO 200, 0.4s, f9 at 17mm, RAW file converted with Lightroom 5

