Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This blog was set up to run alongside my website: the website showcasing my mono work (many images not appearing here) whilst the blog covers colour photographs, recent outings and failed attempts – the two photographs here being perfect examples of ‘blog fodder’!

A recent holiday to Cornwall had me pouring over local maps looking for locations that would allow me to squeeze in some photography around other more sociably acceptable holiday activities – we can’t always have our own way! Bedruthan Steps ticked the boxes – but this photograph doesn’t quite work. Bedruthan Steps in CornwallIt seems unbalanced somehow …… I think perhaps the sea is too soft thereby losing interest but I needed a long exposure to make something of the sky. Ah well, at least next time I know where to go!

Roche Abbey is a place I’ve been drawn to for years – but have never quite got the image I wanted. It’s a long way from home so visits are limited and once again I was foiled, the only opportunity being hampered by difficult light and a threatening sky and, much as I prefer to get it right in camera, there was no choice in this case but to accept exposure blending. Roche Abbey / Roche Rock in Cornwall under a stormy skyI fired off a couple of shots and shortly afterwards the heavens opened leaving me marooned in a bog battling with a wild umbrella. Next time!

EXIF data: ISO 200, 4min 45s, f18 at 44mm and ISO 200, 1.3s, f16 at 52mm (-2 stops for the sky), RAW files converted with Lightroom 5

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

