Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Quite often with photography it can be a matter of simply being in the right place at the right time, sometimes enormous amounts of planning are involved and at others it’s pure luck – as it was on this occasion!

Whilst studying local maps my eyes lighted upon a small blue fan symbol indicating a viewpoint: Caerloggas Down, possibly natural at one time, the hill is now the landscaped remains of mine dumping from the adjacent china clay mines. A decent walk up to the northern side revealed panoramic views towards Bodmin but a chill wind soon sent us packing, across to the other side as the clouds, harried by the wind, sent shafts of sunlight dancing across the surrounding countryside. Cresting a slight brow we chanced upon a stone circle with a spectacular sky backdrop. Stone circle on Caerloggas DownI threw my back pack off and tore my camera from it, adjusting the settings as I raised it to my eye but, even as I did so, the clouds raced by and an instant later they were gone, the solid bank that replaced them making it clear that we’d seen the last of the sun for the day.

I’d so nearly missed this opportunity – five seconds later would have been too late – thirty seconds earlier would have been better! Not having chance to mount a filter necessitated a little remedial work in post processing but was a sacrifice worth making – and at least I didn’t completely miss ‘the light fantastic’!

EXIF data: ISO 200, 1/80, f16 at 45mm, RAW file converted with Lightroom 5

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

