Tags

, , , , , , ,

No, not the chart topping hit but your approach to photography – both whilst taking the photograph and processing the image (well, it works for me, anyway!) My approach to photography is pretty well summed up in the strapline to my website and I prefer to take time to absorb my surroundings, to feel what I see, before raising my camera.

I came across this scene early in March and was struck by the melancholy of it: its location away from the general hubbub, the dead trees, dilapidated gateway, distant birdsong – it had the appearance and feel of a long lost garden. I could almost hear the echoes of laughter and thunk of croquet balls …

Square format, B&W photograph of tree skeletons in the Hamble EstuaryIt was some time before I could get around to processing and, when I did, it had no life; I’d lost the moment. I kept revisiting the image, but never with enough time: my attempts fell flat and the results were, to be honest, pretty dull. When I had all but given up hope it finally came together; maybe one caused the other?! I was back in the moment, I had the same feelings and was able to put something of myself back into the image.

This will probably be complete twaddle to some and hugely relevant to others – each to their own! If this strikes a chord with you, this article, recently posted by Otto von Münchow, is well worth reading.

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

