Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Yarnbury Castle, an iron age hill fort dating from around 300BC, sits atop a typical Wiltshire whale back hill offering panoramic views of the surrounding countryside. My relatively elevated viewpoint allowed me to watch the approaching storm and for a good half an hour I followed its inexorable march.

The atmosphere was thick, charged with electricity; the sweet smell of rain hung in the air and my excited heartbeat quickened. I felt alive; my primeval instincts roused in this ancient site. Panoramic photograph of a storm over Yarnbury Castle iron age hill fortOccasionally the cloud base gave way; curtains of rain falling, drifting their caress across the distant undulating fields. Undiminished, the storm rolled on ….

… and yes – I got soaked!

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

