Tags

, , , , , , , ,

For some time I’ve been wanting to photograph the WWII defences at Kimmeridge Bay but have always found inspiration deserting me the minute I set foot on the pebbled shore – it seemed that the closer I approached the more distant I became.

This time was different; maybe the particularly high tide and wild, rushing sea; maybe the buffeting wind tearing at my clothes and bringing tears to my eyes; maybe the steely cold of the pre dawn light – somehow, in all the chaos I finally really saw them and, struck by their stoic calm and ever watchfulness, I knew what I wanted …

Square format B&W image of sea defences at Kimmerdige Bay

I’ve also never really succeeded in getting a decent photograph of the bay and sloping headland surmounted by Clavell Tower – I’m still not quite there but at least now I know what I want!

B&W fine art image of Clavell's Tower at Kimmeridge Bay

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

