Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

With my day not going according to plan I picked up the ongoing task of importing old photos into Lightroom. It can be a laborious process but every now and then the effort is rewarded, both in terms of reliving the moments but also by coming across something that, with the benefit of a growing idea of what I’m doing and a little rework, finally emerges as I’d originally hoped for.

Mono fine art panoramic photo of Anthony Gormley's Another Place on Crosby Beach

My only visit to Crosby Beach (about four years ago) was late autumn, on a bitterly cold and windy day. The wide open sands, pounded by an icy sea beneath an insipid sky, looked bleak and uninviting; wind whipped tears from my eyes and stung sand at my face and hands and the loosely scattered figures of Antony Gormley’sAnother Place‘, with their stares frozen to the far horizon, compound the sense of desolation.

There’s something strangely enjoyable about ‘bad’ conditions and, with this image finally coming into it’s own, with hindsight it wasn’t such a bad day after all 🙂

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

