Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Life has been pretty chaotic recently; a few weeks ago we returned from a brief tour through France and Spain and I’m still struggling to find the time to sort through my photographs 😦 Apart from too many photographs (!) one of the downsides of touring is that you’re never in the right place, at the right time, with the right light – and our visit to the Millau Viaduct was a case in point.

From afar, the viaduct had the delicacy of a cobweb spanning the Gorges du Tarn and lost nothing, in spite of its enormity, as we approached. The piers soared effortlessly into a flawless blue sky carrying a thin ribbon of tarmac on fans of gossamer threads and, whether traffic or an unfelt breeze through the higher structure, I couldn’t tell but I realised that it hummed gently when I stopped to listen. With my photographic opportunities limited by time and light I struggled to capture its enigmatic beauty and have been left with a mass of unfulfilled ideas running through my mind ….

High contrast, fine art B&W photograph of the Millau Viaduct

(All images are copyright to Noeline Smith)

